top of page

IUGS Commission on Geoethics (IUGS-GC)

Task Group on Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA)

This task group will define an action plan for the IUGS in bringing its constituent groups (commissions, sub-commissions, task groups, initiatives) to a reasonable balance of their members with regard to issues such as gender, geographical provenance, discipline, career stage; as well as supporting IUGS in its activities within the Standing Committee on Gender Equality in Science.

IUGS-CG_temporary logo.PNG
  • Facebook
  • X
  • Linkedin
  • Youtube


Silvia Peppoloni_March_2024_1.jpg

Contact Person of the IUGS-CG Governing Board:

Silvia Peppoloni (Italy)

Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Rome, Italy

International Association for Promoting Geoethics (IAPG)


Chris Atchison.jpg

Member: Chris Atchison (USA)

University of Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

He is a Professor of Geoscience Education in the School of Education and Department of Geology at the University of Cincinnati, and the Founder of the International Association for Geoscience Diversity ( His research focuses on the intentional development of inclusive communities of learning in classrooms, laboratories, and field sites and the implementation of universally designed instructional strategies. Through this work, Atchison advocates for a more accessible and inclusive shift in traditional methods teaching and learning where students and geoscientists with disabilities are provided opportunities for active engagement and participation along accessible pathways to the geoscience workforce.


Yong Ge.jpg

Member: Yong Ge (China)

Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research (IGSNRR), China

Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China

Jiangxi Normal University, China

She is full professor at Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research (IGSNRR), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and Jiangxi Normal University. She received his Ph.D. degree in cartography and GIS from Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2001. Her research interests focus on spatio-temporal statistics and big geo-data analysis. She has authored more than 200 papers and is the associate editor of the Computers and Geosciences and the editor board member of Spatial Statistics. She was also the guest editor of various special issues of journals.



Member: Éva Hartai (Hungary)

Institute of Mineralogy and Geology, University of Miskolc, Hungary

She Honorary Professor at the University of Miskolc. She is a geologist, MSc from Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, PhD from Technical University Kosice, Slovakia. EurGeol title holder since 2012. Her research area is ore geology and mineral resources, she has more than 80 scientific publications. She has 45 years of teaching experience leading courses in physical geology, environmental geology and mineral deposits. She was the editor-in-chief of the European Geologist journal for nine years and coordinator of EFG Panel of Experts on Education for eight years. She has taken part in numerous EU-funded and national projects as coordinator or work package leader. She was the coordinator of the ENGIE project (, which aimed to improve the gender balance in the raw materials sectors.



Member: Rachelle Kernen (Australia)

The University of Adelaide, Australia

She is currently the South Australian Representative for Women in Earth and Environmental Sciences Australasia (WOMEESA) and a Superstar of STEM 2023-2024 through Science and Technology Australia. As a Grant-Funded Research Fellow and a recipient of the prestigious Global Talent Visa, her current research applies her expertise in sedimentology, stratigraphy, and salt-sediment interaction to subsurface carbon dioxide and hydrogen storage and critical mineral deposits. Dr. Kernen is passionate about elevating the status of marginalized people in geoscience by specializing at the intersection of data analysis and sociologic methods.


Billy Williams.jpg

Member: Billy M. Williams (USA)

American Geophysical Union (AGU), USA

He is the Executive Vice President for Ethics, Diversity, and Inclusion at the American Geophysical Union.  Williams was the Principal Investigator and lead organizer for the September 2016, NSF-funded workshop, Sexual Harassment in the Sciences: A Call to Respond and serves as a co-Principal Investigator on the 2017 NSF Grant, ADVANCE Partnership: From the Classroom to the Field: Improving the Workplace in the Geosciences. He currently serves as the Principal Investigator on Catalyzing Cultural Change in the Sciences with New Resources and Tracking Tools, a project funded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and is also the Principal Investigator on the 2020 NSF Grant for AGU LANDInG, a project to establish a DEI community of practice and new cohorts of DEI Leaders in the Geosciences. Williams was a member of the 2017-2018 National Academy of Sciences’ Committee on Impact of Sexual Harassment in Academic Science Engineering and Medicine, and the 2019-2020 Committee on Increasing the Number of Women in STEMM. Prior to joining AGU as Science Director in 2012, he served as a Senior Program Officer at the National Academy of Sciences and as a Global R&D Director at the Dow Chemical Company. He also co-led the development of the Societies Consortium on Addressing Harassment in STEMM – an initiative to advance professional ethics, conduct, climate and culture, now with more than 130 scientific societies members.  He also now co-leads a global initiative to develop an ethical framework for climate intervention research and potential scaling.


bottom of page